UPDATE: Snapchat remains down for thousands of users tonight and while some have been able to log in again, many remain unable to use core features.
The most recent update from the Snapchat support team doesn’t share an ETA, only telling users: “We’re aware of an issue preventing some Snapchatters from logging in. Hang tight, we are looking into it and working on a fix!”
ORIGINAL: Snapchat is down tonight, with users reporting being unable to open the app on multiple platforms.
And while this isn’t a worldwide outage just yet, thousands of reports are coming in regarding problems with logging in to the popular messaging service.
Users confirm that the Snapchat app won’t even open, leaving many cut off from their latest Snaps and Chats. Others are saying that they can reach the normal features but then see the app crash soon after.
One affected posted tonight: “I thought it was only me. So I uninstalled Snapchat, and when I wanted to re-enter my login details, it says, “uh, oh. Something went wrong; try again later.”
It’s unclear what has caused the outage, but over 40,000 reports have been posted on the Downdetector site, making it one of the largest server issues of 2021 so far.
No ETA has been shared for when Snapchat servers will return to normal or how long the app will keep cashing until everything is fixed.
The Snapchat support team on Twitter has shared a message confirming that they are aware of tonight’s issues, and for those wondering how Snapchat deals with Snaps being deleted, these are rules regarding if they will have disappeared before you get to log back on:
“Delete is our default. This means most messages sent over Snapchat will be automatically deleted once they’ve been viewed or have expired. Here are some quick rules of thumb for how long different kinds of content stays on Snapchat servers:
- Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete all Snaps after they’ve been viewed by all recipients.
- Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete all unopened Snaps after 30 days.
- Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete unopened Snaps sent to a Group Chat after 24 hours.
- Snapchatters can save a Snap in Chat by pressing and holding on it to save while viewing or directly after viewing a Snap. After saving a Snap, the Snap will appear in the chat as Chat Media.”